By borrowing library materials you are agreeing to pay any fine or fee that is charged for materials that are returned late, damaged or lost.
MRC General Collection Loan Policies
Patrons may borrow 3 DVDs and a total of 3 of any other items.
Items can be checked out for the following time periods:
- 7 days = DVDs, Blu-Rays, Videocassettes, VCDs, Kits, Tape Recorders,CDs, LPs
- 30 days = Audio books, Language Learning Kits, Screenplays
- Audio and video equipment = See below for MRC Equipment Loan Policies
There is no grace period on MRC materials. Items begin accruing fines after closing on the date they are due.
Some materials are held outside of the center (16mm films, CDs, LPs, Kits) and must be requested at least three days in advance.
16mm films are available to faculty for class use and must be booked in advance based upon availability. In most cases, films will need to be shown in one of the library screening rooms. For more information, ask at the MRC.
Faculty, students, and staff of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill may borrow circulating materials upon presentation of their campus identification card (UNC OneCard). Non-affiliated persons, students and faculty from other universities, residents of North Carolina, members of the General Alumni Association, and Friends of the Library may borrow materials by obtaining a Town Borrower’s Card at either Davis Library, the Health Sciences Library, or the Law Library. See here for more information on fees and lending policies.
Library Use Only Items
The MRC exists primarily to support the research needs of UNC faculty and students. Materials frequently used in classes are often marked library use only so that students and instructors have access to them for academic use. Some items are marked library use only so that rare, expensive, out of print materials remain available to faculty.
Faculty and Teaching Assistants
Faculty and teaching assistants may borrow library use only materials for classroom and research use. For more information on reserving and checking out library use only items see the MRC’s Faculty Support page.
The MRC does not offer renewals on any of their equipment or materials.
All MRC materials should be returned to the MRC during business hours to ensure that they are checked-in the same day that they are returned. When the MRC is closed, materials should be deposited in the drop box located directly outside the entrance of the MRC. Items in the drop box will not be checked in until the next business day. Items returned to other libraries or their drop boxes will not be checked in until they are returned to the MRC. Patrons should be aware that any damage caused by placing materials in dropboxes is their responsibility.
Late charges of $1 per day per item apply to all media items in the collection. There is no grace period for MRC materials. Items should be returned by the indicated due date, before the MRC’s posted closing time. Students may pay fines at the MRC only on the same day the fine is incurred. If students do not pay fines at the MRC the day they are incurred, fines will be transferred to the cashier’s office. Staff, faculty, and town borrowers may pay fines at the MRC any time after the fine is incurred. Lost or damaged materials will result in a flat $115 lost item fine. In lieu of the lost item fee, patrons may purchase a replacement copy of the lost item upon approval from MRC staff. A fine of $5 will be charged for items returned without their case. A fine of $5 will be charged for items returned with the barcodes missing or removed.
Copying of commercial programs, including television programs, is not permitted under international copyright law without the written permission of the copyright holder.
MRC Equipment Loan Policies
Only patrons who present their valid OneCard may borrow equipment from the MRC or use the media lab. Town borrower’s cards are not valid for equipment checkout or media lab use.
Video cameras and other equipment may be borrowed for 2 days (over 2 nights) at a time.
There is no grace period on MRC equipment. Items will start accruing hourly fines after the due date and time.
We recommend reservations be made in advance for all equipment, though walk-ins are welcome when equipment is available. Reservations made online can be made for up to two weeks in advance. For reservations occurring more than two weeks in advance, please contact MRC staff via email at firstname.lastname@example.org. Patrons may reserve one of each type of equipment per week. The two-day loan period begins on the day of the reservation, no matter when the patron arrives to pick up the materials. Patrons may only pick up equipment for themselves and must present their OneCard at checkout. Please note that reservations are subject to availability of working equipment.
The MRC does not offer renewals on any of the equipment or materials.
Video and production equipment must be returned to the MRC circulation desk in person (i.e. no drop boxes) and has to be signed in by an MRC supervisor before it is considered returned.
Patrons will be charged $30 for every hour (or partial hour) that equipment is overdue. Please note that there is no maximum fine for overdue equipment.
Borrowers will be held responsible for all damages to equipment while it is checked out to them. This includes, but is not limited to: theft, abuse/misuse of equipment (both intentional and unintentional), neglect, or carelessness. Patrons will be responsible for paying a replacement charge plus processing fee for damage to or loss of equipment and accessories, up to $4,000. Damage to, destruction of, or loss of equipment must be reported to the Media Resources Center as soon as possible. Staff reserve the right to assess damage and lost item fees upon inspection of equipment, even after material has been returned and checked in.