IDEA Action Grants

IDEA Action grants support the work of inclusion, diversity, equity, and accessibility in the University Libraries. The grants incentivize this work by empowering Library employees to identify systemic racism or exclusionary practices and to move forward with solutions or new approaches.

Former Vice Provost for University Libraries and University Librarian Elaine L. Westbrooks launched the program in 2020 as part of the University Libraries’ commitment to reckon with systemic racism and oppression.

Read more about the IDEA Action grant program and the projects it is funding:

IDEA Action committee members

  • Abigail Armstrong, Circulation Supervisor & Technology Lending Coordinator (House Undergraduate Library)
  • Sherose Badruddin, Library Asset Management Technician, (Davis Library, Circulation)
  • Nadia Clifton, Special Collections Engagement Librarian, (Wilson Special Collections Library)
  • Monica Figueroa, Interim Librarian for Inclusive Excellence, (Library Leadership Team Liaison and IDEA Council Chair) – Ex Officio
  • Sequoia Garris, Executive Assistant to AUL and Director (Health Sciences Library Administration)
  • Susan Griffin, Transfers Coordinator (Resource Description and Management, Davis Library and IDEA Council Member)
  • Kristan Shawgo, Social Sciences Librarian, (Davis Research and Instructional Services and IDEA Council Member) – Chair
  • Aaron Smithers, Special Collections Research & Instruction Librarian (Wilson Research and Instructional Services)
  • Therese Triumph, Interim Head of Kenan Science Library (Kenan Science Library)
  • Rustin Zarkar, Middle East & Islamic Studies Librarian (Davis Research and Instructional Services)